Patience

I wait for you patiently

To call me that you made it home okay.

Your voice on the other line

Puts me right to sleep

Cause after we hang up,

There’s nothing in this world that would bother me.

 

I wait for you patiently

As you make time to see me.

She doesn’t know the truth,

She doesn’t know where you are,

She doesn’t know you lied to her

Just to see me again.

 

I wait for you patiently

As you park next to my car.

The smile you give me,

As I shut your truck door,

Fills my body with emotions,

Words cannot describe.

 

I wait for you patiently

To assure me she doesn’t suspect a thing.

That you had a great time,

And you’ll be thinking of me.

I smile at the thought of the next time

You’re not too busy for me.

 

I wait for you patiently

To tell me you left her for me,

Just the way you left me for her.

But I can’t rush your decision,

You must do this on your own.

I’m afraid it’s not me you’ll choose.

 

I wait for you patiently

While you tell me that you love me.

As your lips touch mine,

As you apologize,

And stare into my eyes

Just to tell me, “I wish things were different.”

 

 

 

About this entry